A life insurance company in India has been directed to pay ₹14.73 lakh to a widow after failing to produce reliable medical evidence to support its allegation that her late husband had concealed pre-existing illnesses when purchasing his policy. The Punjab State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission upheld an earlier order requiring the insurer to settle the claim, pay annual interest at 6 per cent, and provide additional compensation and litigation costs.
The case was brought by Mamta Gupta following the death of her husband, Arun Gupta. The insurer had rejected her claim on the grounds that he had failed to disclose a history of diabetes, hypertension and kidney disease before taking out the policy. However, the consumer commission found that the allegations were not adequately supported by medical records establishing either the existence of the conditions before the policy began or deliberate concealment by the policyholder.
According to a report published by The Indian Express on 14 October, Arun Gupta took out a group credit life insurance policy on 31 July 2019 and paid a premium of ₹23,765. The policy was scheduled to remain in force until 30 July 2022. He died on 24 January 2021, reportedly following cardiac and respiratory arrest and physical shock. Mamta Gupta, the policy’s nominated beneficiary, subsequently submitted a claim for the insured amount.
The insurer rejected the claim on 28 April 2021. It maintained that Arun Gupta had answered questions about his medical history negatively in the insurance application. The company also alleged that its investigation had revealed he had received treatment for chronic kidney disease at the Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER) in Chandigarh in June 2017, more than two years before purchasing the policy.
However, the insurer failed to produce the relevant hospital records needed to substantiate its allegations. The commission found no reliable medical documentation, prescriptions, diagnostic reports or treatment history establishing that Arun Gupta had suffered from the illnesses in question before taking out the insurance policy. Nor was there sufficient evidence to show that he had knowingly withheld material information when applying for cover.
The commission’s findings underline the importance of evidence when insurers invoke non-disclosure as grounds for rejecting a claim. An investigator’s report, without supporting medical documentation, is not necessarily sufficient to establish a policyholder’s previous medical history. Similarly, references to a disease in records created after a policy has been issued do not automatically prove that the condition existed before the contract began or that the insured person knew about it at the time of application.
The dispute also raised questions about the relationship between alleged pre-existing conditions and the circumstances of a policyholder’s death. The commission observed that allegations of diabetes or hypertension alone could not automatically justify rejecting a claim following a death. Cardiac complications and kidney failure can occur for a range of reasons, and the presence of a particular illness must be established through appropriate evidence rather than assumption.
In reaching its decision, the commission also considered earlier consumer forum decisions and a ruling by the Supreme Court of India. Its approach reflects a central principle in insurance disputes: although policyholders are expected to provide accurate information when applying for cover, insurers must establish the factual basis for allegations of material non-disclosure when relying on them to deny benefits.
The case had previously been decided by the Jalandhar District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission on 17 July 2023. The district commission directed the insurer to pay Mamta Gupta ₹14.73 lakh, together with annual interest at 6 per cent from the date of the claim until payment. It also ordered the company to pay ₹10,000 in compensation and ₹5,000 towards litigation costs.
The insurer challenged that decision before the Punjab State Consumer Commission. However, the state-level body upheld the district commission’s order, leaving the principal award and the additional financial directions intact.
During the dispute, the insurer had refunded the premium of ₹23,765, treating the refund as part of its response to the claim. Under the district commission’s directions, Mamta Gupta must return that amount if she has received it. The insurer had also deposited ₹8.64 lakh during the appeal proceedings, together with interest accrued on that sum. Those funds and the applicable interest are to be paid to her in accordance with the commission’s directions.
The decision offers a significant reminder for consumers and insurance providers alike. Life insurance policies are intended to provide financial protection to beneficiaries after the death of the insured person, but disagreements can arise when an insurer suspects that medical information was withheld during the application process. Such disputes require careful examination of the policyholder’s medical history, the information requested in the application and the evidence available to establish whether any omission was deliberate and material.
For insurers, the ruling reinforces the need to support claim repudiations with credible documentation rather than relying solely on investigative conclusions. For policyholders and their families, it highlights the importance of retaining policy documents, claim correspondence and relevant medical records when challenging a rejected claim.
By upholding the compensation order, the Punjab State Consumer Commission made clear that an allegation of concealed illness cannot, on its own, justify withholding insurance benefits. Where an insurer seeks to deny a claim on the grounds of pre-existing disease, its case must be supported by reliable evidence demonstrating the relevant medical history and the basis for alleging non-disclosure.


